In response to California reporting 18 cases of the omicron variant as of Friday, the state is reimposing an indoor mask mandate that will apply to everyone, vaccinated or not, effective Wednesday.

Democrat Governor Gavin Newsom’s administration made the announcement Monday. California is one of only nine states imposing an indoor masking requirement for both the vaccinated and unvaccinated, along with Connecticut, Hawaii, Illinois, Nevada, New Mexico, New York, Oregon and Washington. Washington DC also has a similar mask mandate in place.